We have made a pledge to involve carers in decisions about their loved ones. As a result we have received the nationally recognised Triangle of Care accreditation.

About the Triangle of Care

The Triangle of Care is a guide to best practice in mental health care.

To become accredited, an organisation must achieve six key standards:

  • Recognising the essential role carers play and making contact with them as early as possible after admission or contact with the service user
  • Carer awareness training for staff
  • Established practices for sharing information with carers
  • Named ‘carer champions’ responsible for ensuring carers are valued and informed
  • Introducing carers to the staff and service their loved one is part of
  • Support services for carers

More information on the Triangle of Care can be found at: http://professionals.carers.org/

Our Triangle of Care steering group

We first introduced a trust-wide Triangle of Care steering group in 2014. Now each borough has a local steering group to build on our success so far.

The group has achieved:

  • Carer champion roles in all adult acute mental health wards, community mental health teams and rehab and high support services. 
  • Monthly carer awareness sessions by staff and carers to services working on the Triangle of Care.
  • Co-produced carer information booklets for all inpatient wards
  • Membership on the regional Triangle of Care group
  • Involvement in regional carer support days with partner NHS trusts and services
  • The development of an information sharing protocol and policy in situ on wards
  • A reduction of number of acute service carer contacts with the patient advice and liaison service.